Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Overheard at our Carol Outreach...

"Isn't it good to see people queueing up to get into church" (Secretary of D+1 whilst waiting to collect her service sheet after tea).

"You've certainly made your mark" - actually said to me by someone in her 80's.  I think it was a compliment.

I could, but won't record the few grumbles and mumbles, not least because it was a great evening.  Some how we gave away more than 180 tealights.  It might have been a miracle and they multiplied, or it might have been that a few folk put them down and forgot them, so they were then given away a second time.  Logic says the latter is more likely, and I'm fairly sure it is what happened, but frankly I'm not too fussed, because I believe everyone had a lovely time.

The entire stock of hall chairs of Dibley have been returned to their rightful owners, cups have gone back to chapels and sheds, and I seem to have gained a whole heap of stuff that needs to be returned to its rightful owenrs after they said "oh just give it to Catriona and she'll get it back to me".

My guess is there were just under 200 folk at the service - almost 8 times our normal; certainly five times us and the Methodists combined.  It was lovely to stand at the front of such a large congregation, such a privilege to lead worship... and the last words we heard as we left?  "You will do it again next year, won't you?"

I hope so - but first I need some sleep!

The comments are closed.