Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

'House' or 'House'?

I am starting to think about possible readings and themes for our annual Covenant service which takes place in a little over a week.  I am wondering - in a mad moment - about using some of the passages that relate to the Davidic Covenant and their references to 'house.'  It seems to me that the passages employ both uses of the word 'house' as it is understood in English usage, i.e. as building in which one may dwell (which David isn't going to do for God) and as a family line, as in English nobility (which Daivd is going to do).  But is this (a) right or (b) justified?  I think it is right, but as I can't read Hebrew (not that I have a Hebrew Testament anyway) maybe some clever person out there can tell me?

In choosing this reading I'm very aware of the danger of reading in to it my own views on churches and buildings, but I don't think that necessarily means I shouldn't use it, so long as it is legitimate.

The comments are closed.