Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Unreal! Hodder and Stoughton's new Gnostic NIV!

Well, apparently we aren't buying enough NIVs, so Hodder and Stoughton have gone for a radical (?) new cover design by Unreal.

Here's what Unreal are reported as saying about it....

'Our concept was to bring the inside to the outside,' says [Brian] Eagle [designer]. 'Typography is the best way to express the new look - nothing photographic, as that would be leading people in a different direction. We came up against quite a few obstacles such as which type of cross to use, but we interviewed vicars and researched this with various parts of the Christian community, and thought about different approaches.'

http://www.designweek.co.uk/Articles/137051/Unreal%20redesign%20to%20help%20publisher%20bash%20Bible%20market.html

 

Instantly I found myself recalling saying 22 of the Gospel of Thomas - about which I once wrote an essay -

Jesus saw some infants at the breast. He said to his disciples: These little ones at the breast are like those who enter into the kingdom. They said to him: If we then be children, shall we enter the kingdom? Jesus said to them: When you make the two one, and when you make the inside as the outside, and the outside as the inside, and the upper side as the lower; and when you make the male and the female into a single one, that the male be not male and the female female; when you make eyes in the place of an eye, and a hand in place of a hand, and a foot in place of a foot, an image in place of an image, then shall you enter [the kingdom].

http://www.goodnewsinc.net/othbooks/thomas.html
 

So there you have it!  Gnostic influences in Bible cover design; love it!

Comments

  • But if you make the upper side as the lower, you won't know which way up to read it, and if you make the male and the female into a single one, you'll end up with a dynamic equivalence principle of translation and have the NRSV. ;-)

    Does it have 666 pages?

  • Andy, I think I'm starting to like the sound of this new edition even more! Ideal for holidays in the antipodes, inclusive by default - and as for 666 pages, excellent, I can take it my corner of you-know-where when my time comes.

  • "Instantly I found myself recalling saying 22" - Now there's a sentence I never expected to hear.

  • Hee hee. I didn't actually recall it was saying 22, I have to confess, but it did instantly spring to mind. I always told you a I was a heretic, even if a 100% Chalcedonian one.

  • I always was suspicious of those Chalcedonian types!

The comments are closed.