Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Tertuallian and Shela Walsh?!

The mess that is events at Wycliffe Hall (an Anglican training college) gets increasingly more ugly.  I never thought the day would come when I'd be turning to Tertuallian....

"Vide", inquiunt, "ut invicem se diligant" - ipsi enim invicem oderunt - "et ut pro alteruto mori sint parati"; ipsi enim ad occidendum alterutrum paratiores erunt.

"Look," they say, "how they love one another" (for they themselves hate one another); "and how they are ready to die for each other" (for they themselves are readier to kill each other).

Apologeticum chapter 39,7 From http://www.tertullian.org/quotes.htm

Don't quite know how I'm meant to take it, but a sarcastic reading, with Christians as the 'they' in the parenthesised bits, felt right today!  

I readily agree that the way Elaine Storkey and others were treated is wrong.  I'm just saddened that unfair dismissal and compensation seemingly is not enough - now we have to have lawsuits among/between believers.  The obvious passage of 1 Corinthains 6: 1 - 10 is I'm sure far from trivial to unpack, and I concur that wrong has been done to these folk at Wycliffe Hall, but I can't help feeling that the religious discrimination case - and the way it makes the church look - exemplifies 1 Cor 6:7a "In fact, to have lawsuits at all with one another is already a defeat for you." (NRSV).  What must we look like?

But before I dare get judgemental, I also recall 1 Cor 12: 26a "If one member [of the body] suffers, all suffer together with it" (NRSV).  The whole church is damaged by this, as other, internal injustices and wranglings.

 

Father forgive us, we don't know what we're doing. 

 

I recall come words in a song I have on an old cassette tape, sung by Sheila Walsh back in the 1980s

 

We walk the aisle of history

Leave a battered, wounded bride -

But Jesus loves the church

 

I thank God for that much.

Comments

  • I tend to agree with you.

    Now Elaine is being accused of double standards on the basis of Tearfund's employment practices:

    http://www.ekklesia.co.uk/node/6551

    Sadly, I suspect the next few years will be marked by serious conflict between different branches of evangelicalism.

The comments are closed.