Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

When does God say 'its over?'

Having just received my Baptist news esweep and followed the link to the Guardian's report on the case of Nadia Eweida and BA I am dismayed.  Not with BA, who in my opinion were never in the wrong over this anyway, but with this lady who, having lost the case, reportedly has said 'it's not over until God says it's over.'

As I understand from people I know who have worked for BA - and other airlines for that matter - it is pretty standard practice to be told that you cannot wear any jewellery beyond prescribed limits - with BA it used to be pearl earrings apparently!  Further, there is absolutely no faith based requirement for a Christian to wear a cross, a dove, a fish or any other weird or wonderful article; indeed were I to turn biblicist and opt for a few out of context proof texts, I could make a case that she (and we) shouldn't wear such things.

Seemingly BA offered this lady a tidy sum of money to settle out of court - but no, she declined.

I think what troubles me is the kind of God this story suggests and the apparent assertion that God will decide - and presumably tell this lady - when 'it is over'.

A God of justice is not the same as a God who allows believers to flout employers' dress codes and then claim religious discrimination.   A God of truth is not going to give us the outcome we want just because we want it.

I am glad that BA has relaxed its rules a bit to allow discreet religious symbols to be worn - this seems to be an honest and valuable expression of the multicultural nature of Britain today.  But any idea that God might still have wrath to exact on BA - at least over this issue - seems utterly crazy to me.

I don't claim to have infallible spiritual hearing, but I feel that God is probably saying 'it's over, move on'

The comments are closed.