Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Tricky

A few days ago I received of of those circular emails we all get from time to time asking me to pray for someone, and to pass on the message to everyone I knew.  Whilst I did take a moment to pray for the folk involved, I did not pass on the email.  Unsurprisingly, this morning I received a follow up email to say that the information was long out of date and sorry, this line of prayer was no longer appropriate.  I wasn't that surprised, and having already struggled with the nature of the prayer requet - which I perceived as selfish, and misguided (so I'd prayed more generally!) - was reassured by my course of action, or lack thereof.

A few things struck me about how tricky it is when requesting prayer, whether for individuals or situations, and what it is we think we are doing.

The request I recived seemed to work on the basis that the more people bending God's ear, the more likely the desired outcome.  I remember back in the 1980's when David Watson (St Michael le Belfry, York) had cancer there were great calls for prayer for healing, yet he died.  Some people felt cheated; others learned that God is not a genii in a bottle and prayer is not a magic spell.  More does not automatically mean better, might does not make it right.  Yet, for all that, I will, and do, ask close friends and selected colleagues to pray for/into very specific situations, so clearly I do some merit in getting more people involved.  It isn't that there is an optimum number to bend God's ear, nor that I am seeking to change God's mind to match my desires, indeed it is often awareness of my own limitations and partiality that leads me seek other's prayer.  Often those friends and I who swap prayer requests are asking for wisdom, integrity, justice, hope... attributes that are Godly - to be evident within situations.

The prayer request in the global email asked for someone to be healed (physically) in order that they might enjoy life in all its fulness.  And here is where I struggle again.  How do we define 'fulness'?  The tone of the message was clear - long, healthy, wealthy, happy life.  Well, no, I don't see that as life in all its fulness.  It is in struggles that we learn wisdom, compassion, gentleness, vulnerablity.  It is in poverty that we learn the true value of possessions and people.  It is in everyday reality that we grow and blossom.  It is sad, so very sad, that a prosperity gospel is so prevalent, equating earthly possessions and freedom from struggle with spiritual maturity and blessing.  When Jesus refered to 'life in all its fulness' (John 10:10b) I am pretty sure he included the difficult times within that.  A full life is one that does not measure success in dollars, duration, education, or popularity; no, a full life is one that grows and blossoms as we become the people God created us to be, loved and loving, cherishing but not clinging to all that is good in life, accepting and growing through adversity, seeking to grow in faith and grace.

I have to be honest, and say that beyond those known to me, or known personally by those who ask me for prayer, I tend to be pretty general in what I pray.  I cringe when asked to 'pray for Christians in country x where y is happening' and instead pray for 'all in country x' (unless, of course, we are talking about persecution); likewise if asked to pray for one of a group affected by something, I will pray for the whole group.

I am very blessed to have a small circle of folk to whom prayer requests can be sent, knowing that they will pray intelligently and appropriately.  It is still tricky, but at least it's a step in the right direction.

Comments

  • Yes! And if the people we're supposed to have prayed for don't get better, it's because we don't have enough faith!

    I normally find myself doing the thing where just before you say Amen out loud after someone prays in church, you add under your breath or in your head "apart from that bit, and only the second bit if what they really meant was this, but otherwise AMEN"

    which brings me on to the phenomenon of "corrective prayers", where one person in the church prays something well-meaning but a bit heretical, so the minister or some other responsible person has to do a "And Lord, we also believe that/want to thank you that you are" so the congregation doesn't get led by sub-consciously wicked teaching, haha

The comments are closed.