Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Lent Abstentions

The trouble with being a regular giver-up of things for Lent, is that my church folk now expect it!  So, no tea, no coffee, no cakes, biscuits, chocolate, sweets or treats until Easter.  After anything up to 30 years of this practice (I've added on over the years) it is hardly a major challenge plus I know that once the caffiene has cleared my system I am actually more energsied anyway.  So what can I usefully add on this year?

I have opted in to the much derided Carbon Fast and removed the two lamps that operate in timers to fool potential burglars.  I'm not convinced they make that much difference as a deterent but, even with 40W bulbs, and being on for about 4 hours a day each, it all adds up (around 2kWh per week - imagine that multiplied up across the UK - you could probably shut down an evil power station!).  Most of the other carbon fast stuff I already do or cannot do because I have no control over it.  I also quite like the Christian Aid Count Your Blessings approach, and will be trying to encourage church folk to join in with it.

Now, if I wanted a REAL challenge I would abstain from overwork, force myself to constrain it to around 8 hours a day, but I know I don't have the will power needed to allow things to crumble if I don't do them.

The comments are closed.