Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

How Many Temptations?

How many temptations did Jesus face in his 40 days in the wilderness between his baptism and the start of his ministry?  No, I'm not playing games with the idea that a whole heap were unrecorded, rather just working with the three incidents listed in Matthew/Luke and ignoring discrepancies in order.

I came up with at least six this morning as I was preparing the sermon for Sunday, but as most operated at more than one level, I suspect I could have counted differently.

The first one (though I indentified it last) is egocentrism - this is all about me.  Certainly the temptations are personal, and their first referent is Jesus himself, but there must have been a temptation to self-centredness: my will be done...

Others, which can be read as personal or with universal application are...

Materialism - to make all the bread he needs/wants, and by inference anything else material.

Avoidance of risk - leap off the Temple and you won't get hurt - no risk of pain, injury or failure

Fame - leaping off the Temple as a stunt and/or to end world hunger or poverty at a stroke

Power - the whole world at his feet

Quick fix - instant change, now this minute

Abuse of scripture - finding a verse to say what you want, rather than thinking what the 'bigger picture is'

 

These temptations are ones we all face, to some degree, both at personal and at global levels, and it is useful to reflect on my own responses to them.  Not comfortable, but useful.

 

The comments are closed.