Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Can You Help?

We are planning our Good Friday outreach evnets - a kind of drop in with activities for children and space to reflect, meditate or chill out for adults.  This means lots of upfront work so that we can all chill a bit on the day (method in the madness I hope!).

One of the ideas is to use a prayer labyrinth, and I'd hoped to be able to borrow the one that belongs to EMBA - alas someone else thought of it first and it is booked out.

A quick trawl of cyberspace hasn't come up with any alternative sources, so do any of you lovely poeple know where I can borrow or hire one from?  We do not have the time to make our own for this year.

Comments

  • Hi, We have the kit up here in Hull that is basically the same as http://www.labyrinth.org.uk/ we have only used it once as it took about 4 hours to set up. It needs video loops setting up, CD players for each person to use. It is complicated.

    You could simply use the one in Multi-sensory Church by Sue Wallace which looks easy to set up and is Easter based. http://www.amazon.co.uk/Multi-Sensory-Church-Innovative-Ready-use/dp/1859996671

    I have found the Multi-Sensory books by Sue Wallace an invaluable resource.

    BTW thanks for the hymn tip

    Richard

  • Hi Richard,
    yes, I have those books they're really good - am planning to pinch a few of their ideas!

    I looked at the labyrinth website and felt it was, as you say, a mightly lot of work, especially as we'll only be open 2 hours, and wouldn't get a 4 hour lead time to set up. Should we ever be doing a whole week I might give you a call!

  • hull is a long way from Dibley!

    (Comment edited to protect location from being identifed CG)

  • Coventry Cathedral had one at their Spirit of Life festival last year and I think somebody there gave me some contact details.

    If I can find any details I'll let you know, though distance may again be an object.

  • I did a labyrinth based on four words - creation, fall, redemption and hope - that used newspaper cuttings and pictures to illustrate each theme and then I produced a sheet for each word giving liturgy and reflections. It's very low tech! I also produced a parallel powerpoint for those unable to walk the course or those who just wanted to sit and ponder rather than walk and ponder. It might not be what you want but I could email the resources if you get in touch.

The comments are closed.