Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Grilling or Ashing?

Tonight at 'thing in a pub' one of my folk decided to grill me as to whether or not I had participated in the 'ashing' at yesterday's Ash Wednesday service.  I hadn't, it doesn't 'do it' for me, but I can't make a very robust theological objection given the ritualisation of all manner of other Biblical practices that go on in churches of all persuasions.  Ashes as a sign of penitence have a good Biblical mandate, whatever might have happened in the intervening years.

It was clearly vital to this person that I hadn't taken part in that ritual, judging by the dogged determination with which it was persued - asking me if I'd burned the crosses (which didn't/doesn't happen in the service anyway) - and by the strength and emphasis of the 'good' when I said 'no.'

I decided I was more annoyed about this than was perhaps justified, and need(ed) to work out why.

Firstly, it would not contravene Baptist discipline if I had taken part, and I do know Baptist ministers who both participate as recipients and do whatever you call the people who do the ashing.

Secondly, actually that decision is between me and God anyway.  It is God, not my congregation, to whom I am ultimately accountable.  This should probably be item (1) because being right with God must 'trump' Baptist discipline, but I'm being honest in my recording.

Thirdly, and probably mainly, I felt that the whole enterprise was being treated glibly, and that the service was a source of comedic amusement.  I made the mistake of saying that I was disappointed that more people hadn't chosen to come when I had specifically requested their support, which seemed to make it all the more acute that so few had come along.

What was so sad, was that it was actually a very lovely service, with a great atmosphere and where everyone participated in as much or as little as they were comfortable with and no one minded.  The few Methodists who were there chose to be 'ashed,' we few Baptists chose not to be.  No one quizzed us about why not, they just appreciated our presence.  Most of us went forward for communion, but a few chose not to, and, again, no one queried or ridiculed the decision.  My experimental sermon was really well received, with people saying they had found it moving and powerful - far more feedback than I ever get on a Sunday.

The Ash Wednesday service isn't something I would choose to emulate, but that doesn't mean it is valueless mumbo jumbo upon which good Baptists can look down in disdain.

Well, having posted and pondered whether to publish, my annoyance has abated.  I stand by my decision to participate in the service to the extent I did, and do not believe I am required to give account of myself other than God, who, I suspect, quite frankly has bigger fish to fry.

Comments

  • "I... do not believe I am required to give account of myself other than God, who, I suspect, quite frankly has bigger fish to fry"

    Posting this just before Friday - and during Lent... are you saying God's a Catholic? ;-)

    Seriously, we are blessed (!) in Baptist life with people from a broad spectrum of spiritualities... which must either make us very catholic (a bit like God, then), or not always very one and holy!

The comments are closed.