Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Praying Out Loud!

Earlier in the week, I had decided that rather than me writing and leading prayers of approach, I would use 'open prayer' allowing people to offer their own praise and thanks.  By the time I got to worship this afternoon, I had changed my mind, and decided I would do what I sometimes do with the girls in Brigade, and ask everyone in turn to offer a one sentence 'thank you prayer.'

I duly introduced the idea, warned the person who would be asked to start us off, and told people they had to use the (hand held) microphone so that everyone would be able to hear.  I wasn't sure if people would play ball or not.  But, miraculously everyone did - and I feel the mike as a prop probably helped.  Some prayers were unintelligble because they were bellowed or mumbled into the mike, but everyone made an attempt

The prayers were no more, and no less, profound than those my five year olds offer.  Thanks for family and friends, for church, for freedom of worship, for Jesus, for the sunshine (which was gorgeous), for the school building where we meet.

It would be lovely to think that suddenly everyone would be confident to offer extempore prayers, but I think that would be a little optimistic.  But at least now we've done this once, we can do it again, and people will hopefully feel a little less intimidated by prayer.

Pay back came in the form of the duty intercessions leader forgetting all about it, so I had to step into the breach - my turn to be put on the spot and pray extempore with no chance to think about it first.

Still, overall I think the service went quite well and allowed us to think afresh about the theme of temptation, sin and forgiveness.

Comments

  • Family and friends etc are very safe things to pray thank you for, but often I think the things we're truly most thankful for are little things like just getting to the bus stop just in time, or when you don't have an umbrella or waterproof and the rain holds off until you get inside, or the feeling you get when you beat your friend who's better than you at table football. The trouble is, whenever you actually pray thank you for those things people think you're praying like that just to be funny or different, when in fact it's often more honest.

  • Hi Tim,
    yes, they are safe things to pray thank you for, but when you've reached the age of 95 and never, ever prayed out loud in public before, then I'm still more than happy to hear it.

The comments are closed.