Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Oh No It Isn't!

So, there I am, reading chapter 2 of Life Conquers Death (which is proving a good read) and the author refers (page 37) to the picture on the front cover, used with permission, as being Rembrandt's Holy Family With Angels. No!  My paperback copy has a rather striking photograph of a tree with the sun just skimming the uppermost branches (I don't seem to be able to track down a hardback version, if there is one, to see if this is different).

Fortunately the author of the book (John Arnold) includes a detailed description of the painting, so the book still works.  What was intriguing was to compare the image as I imagined it from his description with the relaity when I found it online.

Just in case anyone else is likely to be in the same predicament, here is a version as a soviet postage stamp (I liked the irony of this) from 1976...

 

Comments

  • You have solved a great mystery for my Lenten study group. Some in my group questioned that they had the correct book! Glad we are not the only ones, and thank you for finding the photo.

The comments are closed.