Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Places God meets us...

This is a definition of a sacrament I heard today and (fanfares from my sacramentalist heretic friends) it is one I can buy - though not necessarily as my very long suffering friend, who shared it understands, it because she would link it to a promise that God meets us, and I haven't got that bit (yet...?).

Today God met me in Mrs Bridges Tea Rooms * in Leicester where I enjoyed a wonderful smoked salmon, avacado and various other bits baguette washed down with cranberry presse.  So that would make that a sacramental experience (which my friend would own, in theory anyway (it may not have been so for her)) if not a sacrament per se.

I'd still argue that the two rites Baptists celebrate are ordinances even if they are also in some sense sacramental (ha, I'm not giving in THAT easily!!).  I think the dicipleship. obedience, aspect is too important to dismiss, as is the case in some sacramental theologies.  (Not suggesting you do friend of mine)

I guess the truth is that its a bit of both and a whole lot of neither - otherwise we have it too neatly stitched up and cease to allow God to be God.

Anyway, thank you kind and generous friend for food for my body and food for my mind and for giving me a space where God, in you, met me.

 

  *  Caution though, Mrs Bridges is a wonderful place but you need real old fangled cash as they don't accept cards!! 

Comments

  • Definitely a sacramental moment in both our perspectives...I will get you yet!

  • Two theological questions:

    1. Would Mrs Bridges Tea Rooms work (ex operate operato) as a regular place of pilgrimage and sacramental encounter?

    2. Would the sacrament still be valid if you used wine instead of cranberry juice?

    Seriously though, glad to hear of your encounter, no matter how that was mediated. "The world is charged with the grandeur of God" (and also with quieter moments of grace).

  • Watch it Andy, you'll be trying to give me place attachment next! And as for Latin sacramental language 'get thee behind me Harrod'...

    I'd definitely be happier with a sacramental universe model than one that got into knots over how and what this or that ritual does whatever it does, or not.

    If I used wine instead of cranberry - in those quantities - I reckon I'd be well drunk, so not a pretty sight.

    Thanks for the smiles! :-)

The comments are closed.