Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

WWDP Reflections

Doing the WWDP service twice today - once as speaker, once as leader - meant I got two very different experiences of it.

The first one was the one where I preached - and people seemed to enjoy and understand what I was saying.  I even got away with saying 'sometimes life's a bitch' - but then I was literally six feet above contradiction in a church that may not have a pulpit but does have a two tier stage with a high up preaching lectern.  After the service someone came and said I'd just told her life story (Job-Mary-Martha) and it was 'just for her.'  A couple of other people said it was 'wonderful' - and though maybe they say that to everyone, I was pleased.  Forty or so mainly middle class women, some with lovely county accents, and ranging from my own age to I'd guess about 80.  The dramatisation was really well delivered, the singing strong and overall it was a good experience.

The second was in one of the sheltered complexes here in Dibley.  A dire old piano that hasn't been tuned in donkey's years, a funny shaped room and the interruption of the weekly fire alarm test - but it was a good time.  23 of us - apparently they have to report numbers back to the hierarchy of WWDP - aged 45 to 102 sat on an assortment of chairs with people walking by every couple of minutes.  The dramatisation was well read but the positioning of readers all over the place meant its impact was lost.  The singing was superb - even of a song none of us knew, and the atmosphere really warm and loving.  The speaker was over long - 30 minutes! - but she held people's attention quite well and we finished the service in 1h 15.  For me the biggest thrill was to see the 102 year old - one of our lunch club ladies - who has no church connection joining in with us.  It gave me hope for our service there in a fortnight - if we can get two or three lunch club folk along the enterprise will be demonstrably justified even to the cynics.

I would have to be honest and say that this year's WWDP material was not the most inspiring I've ever used, but I do continue to see the worth of an international commitment to pray without ceasing for one whole day, and to facilitate practical support to others via the freewill offering.  Here in Dibley, from our 23 folk we got £56 - the highest they've ever managed to raise.  A drop in the bucket maybe - though an extra £2odd/head given away by people most of whom are on state pensions is no mean feat - but multiply that up across the UK, and then the world, and it's a big splash!

The day you gave us, Lord, is ended

The darkness falls at your behest

To you our morning hymns ascended

Your praise shall hallow now our rest.

 

It would not be WWDP without this beautiful, old, evening hymn.  As we sang it I found a stray though crossing my mind that, you know what, I wouldn't mind it being sung at the end of my funeral - though hopefully not for a very long time yet!

The comments are closed.