Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Liturgical Haste...

Now and then I check out the BUGB website to see what's new.  I did this morning, and noticed that the header bar has been changed from 'Lent' to 'Easter.'  I am not sure which liturgical calendar the webmaster is using but my response was 'not yet.'  We don't even get to Palm Sunday (or Passion Sunday for any RC readers) for almost a week yet.

For me this haste is unhelpful.  Easter is a process, an experience, to be entered into and felt deeply, painfully, gut wrenchingly, heart breakingly... and only then do we dare celebrate its other side.  Too many churchgoers will omit Holy Week - to date from my congregation there is just me going to a joint Passover Seder at D+2 on Maundy Thursday, several have said they will be 'otherwise engaged' on Good Friday  - and many won't even turn up for Easter Sunday, being off on holiday instead.  We seem to like 'happy church' with Jesus either safely alive and well or risen and ascended.  This is to our detriment spiritually and emotionally.

Recently I read a very profound post by Kez on death and Easter.  For my family Easter is always linked to death because my Dad died just three days after Easter 1990.  He had been ill for a decade so there was a mixture of release and relief when it finally happened - but it was, and is, a firm reminder that Easter needs death at its heart, and that skipping too blithely from Palm Sunday to easter Sunday isn't an option.

So slow down a bit, dear old BUGB, take the time to go the place of darkness - for unless and until we do, there is no true resurrection joy.

Comments

  • Well said. I had the same as I was beginning to prepare for the sermon for this Sunday. Why do we go from triumphal entry to triumphal resurrection - and miss out the suffering and darkness, especially for those who don't go to the other services in Holy Week they are indeed missing out.
    Thanks, by the way, for the encouragement about the WWD of prayer - my talk was well received even though some thought I looked like a school girl but no one said I preached like one so that was a relief! I think you were brave going to 2 in one day.

  • Hi Lucy,
    I only worry when they treat me like a school girl...! (And yes, even at 45 I've been accused of looking like a schoolgirl by some of them! Really must stop wearing those long white socks ;-) )

    Glad it went well, not that I had any doubts you understand.

    Hope you have Easter in all its fullness.

  • Last year, conscious of this sunday to sunday thing, I had the cross set up for Palm Sunday but covered it with a green cloth and palm branches - at the end of the service I ripped it off and you could hear the shiver go through some. This year I plan to start Easter Sunday in grief mode and not rush into Joy. (not sure how yet!)

    This need is stronger here as we rarely have Maundy Thirsday or Good Friday here as both services are on a rota with other church groups.l And we all know few attend united services of any kind.

The comments are closed.