Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Divine Learning and Christ's Car Wash!

Back home after a busy, and generally productive, at least in word count if not quality, week.

666bace1e8c59997bcde765b26346153.jpgSt Deiniol's was a great place to read, read some more, type, type lots more, delete it, retype it, eat, sleep... and discover that the the warden was my 'old' university chaplain from the 1980's!  A real Brian Howden moment.  Not too keen on the lukewarm showers or the absence of chocolate (plenty in corner shop though) but the Welsh cakes were good!  Had a chuckle to myself over the concept of 'divine learning' (in the inscription, left) - just what might that mean to different people?

I'm not overly impressed with what I've written, but it will 'do' as work in progress for next week, and at least I have a fair idea what I think are its weaknesses.

Met some great people (mostly Anglicans on 'post Easter breaks') including a Unitarian historian wondering about a theological approach to history, and realised I must have leanred something along the way when someone told me about the Level 3 undergraduate essay she was trying to write and I felt I could almost have dashed it off without reading anything.  Also a place of very vivid and personal encounter with God - so maybe that was the divine learning bit.

Then driving home92ba2fae170e42a1d10cb1d5bdaf3aa6.gif I stopped off for diesel at a service stattion and had to do a double take at a sign that said Christ Car Wash.  Yup, it was for real, a German firm evidently.  Just made me smile - does it wash cleaner than others do?  If people with points in their licences go through it, do they come out without them (not that I need to find out, of course)?

So now I have to write a sermon, prepare for a Home Mission visit, and wonder my my poor old PC has just started making horrid noises!  All that and tidy up my paper enough to send it for comment.

Eeh, it's great to be home.

The comments are closed.