Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Weekend Wonderings

All in all an interesting weekend!  And I know that I met several people who will read this rubbish, so 'hello' one and all!

Interesting or useful?  That's a question I'm pondering in relation to my residential at the university.  It was interesting to hear other people's presentations, but was it a useful exercise?  And how might that be measured? 

What I observed was that many people did not fulfil the brief (20-25 mins presentation plus similar for questions), but that no one addressed this, so some people spoke for 55 minutes leaving 5 for questions and comments.  At one level, I guess, that was their loss - they didn't gain valuable experience in handling questions, and they also failed to learn how to deliver the essence of their work in the allotted time. 

So why is it that I am probably more annoyed about it than they are?!  I think maybe because it makes me wonder what the 'learning' element of the exercise was. 

I have tried to reflect on what I gained from my own presentation - apart from treating it as a 'dry run' to reveal to me the holes, lumps and bumps before it goes 'live' in a couple of months.  I think the one thing I could say is that I am starting to feel just a teeny bit more confident and less defensive in handling questions.  This is a field where I am very conscious of my limitations and the fear of being 'found out' is always very real.  This time I felt I could defend my viewpoint better, as in with a bit more confidence, so I guess I am making progress of a sort. 

I think I am conscious that this cohort of students functions very well as a support group - we are all good at being nice to each other, at being encouraging etc - but it is a bit Christian bookshop like - too nice, never challenging, never critiquing, never actually being quite 'real.'  What I also find frustrating is that rather than engaging with the papers, responding to arguments, offering insights or critiques, people just have lovely chats about what they'd do or how this reminds them of something in their own lives.  Is it impossible to be a practical theologian and think in concepts?!!  I had a good time, don't misunderstand me, and for some reason I seem to be seen as a 'safe' person to ask about things that concern people from word counts, to Endnote, to library cards... I am just left wondering to what extent this helps me to grow as a researcher or a theologian.

Interesting and inspiring!  This morning I went with some friends to hear Tim Hyde  preach at St Helens.  Tim preached on 1 Thessalonians 4 in a way that was profound yet accessible, challenging yet not threatening and it was great to hear someone actcually explore the text in a theologically competent way from the pulpit.  The focus was in resurrection in relation to a new creation and emphatically not a rapture model.  Drawing on N T Wright's ideas I am sure it was new stuff for at least some of his congregation.  Having a minister in your congregation is pretty unnerving, so well done Tim for a superb service.

It was great to spend some time with friends, especially as they fed me plenty of chocolate!  Having a place to relax and unwind at the end of a day of study is a real gift.  So thanks muchly one and all.  Hope T & D enjoy the books and E & P the edibles!!

So, back to normal - heaps of mail, email and phone messages and work starts again tomorrrow.  Overall an interesting weekend with lots to ponder.

Comments

  • Thank you for your very kind words. It was good you could join us. What was unnerving was not the presence of a minister but of someone who had picked one of the hymns by blogging!

The comments are closed.