Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Good Training!

Today I was on an Association training day for ministers and church workers on Safeguarding.  It was the nearest thing Baptists can muster to a three line whip, but the reality was that those who got involved were almost certainly those who already take the issue pretty seriously.  I have, in the past, sat through some dreadful training in this field, have heard leaders who know less about the topic than I do, and have been roundly lambasted (en bloc with others) simply for existing.  Today was just so different!

The trainer balanced a lovely sense of humour with some powerful and poignant role play (which he did, we observed), he was wise and practical, honest and open, gentle but persuasive.  Whilst I came away wondering just how many ministers are emotionally abused by their congregations (defined as 'persistent negative criticism and little warmth') I also came away thinking that the support networks in place in this association are superb in so many ways.

One bit that made me half smile and half wonder was the definitions of 'child' (0-18, except when it is 21 or 24) and 'adult' (18 - 99).  It seems my 102 year old lunch club member is actually too old to be vulnerable!!!  Ah me, what a daft old world we inhabit.

It was a good day, and I came away feeling that this was a course I would have happily paid for myself and considered it money well spent.  So as it was free and gratis for all EMBA ministers I was doubly happy.

If I wanted to be a true Dibleyite and point out "the only thing that was wrong with it" (cos nothing is allowed to be exempt for criticism here!) it was that the facilitator used the word 'folks' about six times too often for my liking - but that would be picky pedantry.

Comments

  • I agree, the EMBA is marvellously well resourced and seems to set a consistent standard for good practice. Our association just beyond the Danelaw isn't that bad, but the other person's herbiage is always of a more verdant hue...

The comments are closed.