Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Pentecost Songs

This morning I've been choosing hymns and songs for our Pentecost outreach event.  It has been an OK experience, though of necessity some I really like had to be omitted because they don't fit and some I dislike or am bored with had to be included - such is life.

One that had to be omitted was this one from New Zealand and in Common Ground...

 

Loving Spirit, loving Spirit

You have chosen me to be

You have drawn me to your wonder,

You have set your sign on me.

 

Like a mother, you enfold me,

Hold my life within your own,

Feed me with your very body,

Form me of your flesh and bone.

 

Like a father, you protect me,

Teach me the discerning eye,

Hoist me up upon your shoulder,

Let me see the world from high. 

 

Friend and lover, in your closeness

I am known and held and blessed

In your promise is my comfort,

In your presence I may rest.

 

Loving Spirit, loving Spirit,

You have chosen me to be,

You have drawn me to your wonder,

You have set your sign on me.

 

Shirley Erena Murray (c) Hope Publishing Co. via Copycare

 

For anyone who'd like to use it, and doesn't have access to Common Ground, at least the metre (87 87) is such that you can readily find a tune to use.

 

The comments are closed.