Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Strange Powers...

As Honorary Treasurer (or some such) of our Association's Ministers' Conference, one of my odd tasks is the allocation of rooms to delegates.  This is a strangely powerful role, as all rooms are not equal!  Some have level access, some require the occupant to climb lots of stairs, some are adjacent to the (noisy) lift and others near outside doors, still others have more space and more beds to choose from!  So, last night I sat down with my pencil and sorted it out and wondered if anyone knows or even cares that there are actually decisions to be made?  As a rule of thumb, I allocate rooms sequentially by the alphabetical list but assign larger rooms to ministerial couples and/or conference speakers (who presumably need somewhere to put all their papers and books) and shift all the bods who are only there for part of the conference to the end of the list.  Then there are a few tweaks to create an all-girl enclave just in case anyone worries about the moral welfare of their ministers... Strange powers indeed!

Comments

  • Thanks you to you and the rest of the team for making all this happen.
    I will try not to lock myself out of my room this year because I was looking in amazement at the neatly folded sheets outside your room on the last morning -I'll expect them this time! An example to us all!

  • Hee hee hee, I recalled that as I was allocating the rooms and creating the instructions for giving out the keys (should someone else shock you into locking yourself out, we'll have a spare...).

    Congratulations on leaving the 1000th comment on this blog, your prize, courtesy of Amazon wish lists, is on its way!

  • How exciting! Something to read whilst I await the spare key!

    Thank you!

  • Believe me, they DO notice and care - ESPECIALLY when you get it wrong! I used to have to allocate the rooms for the Connexion [pastor's spouses] conf, and we were in a place with twin bedded rooms. We asked people to state if there was a friend they wanted to share with. One person [X] asked to share with [Y] as their husbands were pastors in same church and would be travelling together. On the 2nd day, Y said she NEVER wanted to share with X and it was bad enough being near her in church, let alone when she was in bed!!!
    I think you are doing a great job - keep up the good work. But I still think the East Mids should let the Pastor's Spouses come along to the Pastor's Conference if they want to, like most other associations do.

  • Hi Angela, the topic of spice (spouses) gets raised fairly often, usually by or with people who've come from other associations (some of whom are enthusiastically pro and others vehemently anti!). I've heard the for/against arguments a lot of times, and also some of the historical East Mids logic; thus far the decision seems to be to stay as ministers only.

    I will make sure I don't but Rev X next door to Pastor Y just in case!!

The comments are closed.