Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Expensive!

Why does it cost me more to keep a Saxo on the road for two years than a Metro for ten?  My wonderful second metro (Rover 100 to purists) only failed one MOT, when I was forced to let her go because parts were no longer available.  My Saxo has had two MOTs since I've owned it, and failed both, and I will have spent more in two years than I did on my Metro in ten - and almost as much as on two Metros in twenty!  So now we know why Rover went bust...

Comments

  • But purer, and higher, and greater will be our wonder, our TRANSPORT when Jesus we see!

    As a child, I thought that meant we would have a more reliable car in heaven

    Saxo is such a strange name though - cross between a brand of salt and sage'n'onion stuffing! I do sympathise - my Matiz isn't well either [Daewoo matiz is equally daft name]

  • Renault lagunas (lagunae?) aren't doing too well this year either. Failed on emissions after 7 years almost plain sailing.

  • :-(

    Saxo needed two drive shafts, a CV joint, headlight alignment (which I'd suspected since I recently had a mega faff to change a bulb) and new wiper blades (no surprise there either after the scraping noises they made yesterday!). Also, though not failable, seeming the brake discs are worn and the exhaust (fitted exactly a month ago) is not aligned correctly... So, more expense ahead I fear. But it passed its emissions by miles (or is that grammes per litre?!)

  • I blame the French. This observation has nothing at all to do with your post. I just think the world should know whose fault everything is.

  • I don't think everything is down to the French. Even though the last time the Renault had a major failure was on a Parisian motorway, where its drive belt went and took three weeks to fix. I learned two important phrases from the French motor industry:

    "Ce n'est pas grave" and "ce n'est pas possible". Both of which meant the opposite in English.

    Anyway back to being a minister without a car, while we look for a suitable replacement. Previous generations have managed it without difficulty, but where do you get bicycle clips in this day and age?

  • Andy, Andy, how did you work in D+1 for four years and not learn that bike clips are no longer what the 'in' cyclist wears -you simply tuck the end of appropriate leg of your jogging bottoms into your sock! That and add you flat cap and thick anorak on hot, sunny days!

The comments are closed.