Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

You are or You should? (It's all Greek to me!)

I have just been re-reading 1 Corinthians 12, 13 14 and decided to check out what it actually says in Greek rather than NIV-ish.  So I need some help from people who really understand Greek!  In 1 Cor 12:30 and 14:1 use is made of the word that transliterates roughly as 'zelute'.  According to my trusty lexicon, this is a second person plural present tense (which I knew anyway!) but looks the same whether it is indicative (you are doing this) or imperative (a command: you, do this... i.e. you ought to be doing this), or for that matter subjunctive (er, yes, whatever!).  It seems to me it matters which it is, as the way I read the sentences seems to differ - and impacts on how I understand 1 Cor 13.  If the greatest gift is love ( 1 Cor 13) and people are desiring or to desire the greater/greatest gift (what does the comparative 'greater' mean here?  I seem to recall it can mean 'greatest' if it has a 'the')?  And if so where does that put the other charismatic gifts?  Hmm.

Any one who really understands Greek help me here?

 

Comments

  • If all else fails I'll ask my Greek tutor tomorrow - might take his mind of my poor translation and the fact that I still can't recognise all the forms of the definite article!

  • Catriona
    1. There are a few other cases in which the comparative adjective is used in place of the superlative (Luke 9.48; 1 Tim 4.1) - but it is quite rare in the NT. Some suggest that the reference is to the love of God which is greater than human faith and love - but the majority go with the view you state. In later Greek the superlative virtually disappears altogether.

    2. This is less an issue of morphology than of context. 14.1 looks like an exhortation that follows on from the hymn to love in chap 13. Although both verbs could be indicative, it seems much more likely that they are imperatives. Most would therefore interpret 12.31 in the light of 14.1, although there are one or two who demur.

    Not sure how much that helps, but comments are offered in reciprocation for the generous package from Amazon that arrived today (along with vouchers for others). See you Thursday

  • Thanks Sean,
    that is helpful - just trying to work out responses to those who see 'the greater' gifts as equating to 'the more obviously supernatural'. As one whose gifts - which she sees as every bit as spiritual as the more 'showy' ones - are more 'earthy' (administration is a mighty fine gift to possess!) I get a bit weary of pseudo-hierarchical lists that favour glossolalia over, say, the (equally mysterious) 'gift of helps'.

    Glad the post arrived, see you Thursday.

  • I agree with Sean's comments. I would only add that I don't think Paul is suggesting love is a 'gift' of any kind, certainly love is not the greater gift in view in 12:31. Rather love is the quality required to ensure the gifts are used properly. I think this is clear from the fact that Paul tells us to seek the greater gifts in both 12:31 and 14:1. He then goes on to contrast tongues and prophecy - both gifts of God - but prophecy is the greater as far as Paul is concerned because it builds the body of the church.

  • Thanks Simon.

    OK, next question, can you define 'prophecy' for me? I was at an event a while back where a woman said that her son 'prophesies with the drums' and, evil, non-charismatic heretic that I am, I thought 'whaaaat?!' It seems to be a word used rather loosely in some circles.

    (Maybe it is possible to prophesy with drums and I'm just not understanding)

  • Yeah, well, you got me there. I too have heard of people drumming prophetically but I thought I'd just misheard the person telling me judging by the quality of playing.
    However, prophecy, it seems to me, is a word from God that can come either spontaneously to an individual in a meeting or after much sweating as someone has asked through the week what God might want to communicate to a gathering of believers. I think Paul has both kinds in view in 1 Corinthians 14.
    I reckon prophecy differs from expository or thematic preaching (which might be called 'teaching', according to 1 Corinthians 12) in that it speaks directly to a specific situation in an individual or a church and it requires an immediate response - it needs to be weighed, tested and either rejected or acted on.
    Others might have a better grasp on this than me. Someone might even be able to explain it on the drums!

The comments are closed.