Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Liturgy for a Graveside (only) Funeral?

Today I've received (very partial!) details of a request to conduct a 'graveside only' funeral next week.  I have agreed to take this on, largely because there is a major shortage of ministers in our area at the moment, and assuming that I can find a suitable liturgy from somewhere.  As yet I do not know the age, circumstances or background of the deceased, but know that in this area such requests often come where there are few or no mourners, little overt faith connection and cremation is not desired.

So, a trawl through the obvious published candidates - including the green (current) edition of Funeral Services - which has turned up absolutely nothing for this precise circumstance.  A web trawl found no liturgies, only a few examples of mass services (as in large numbers of burials at once, not RC communion services).  Does anyone have any ideas?

My current plan is to do a fairly standard funeral but with no hymns (I'm not about to sing solo in the rain on a hillside!) and no address, though allowing a few moments for silent reflection/recollection.  In other words something along the lines of:

Welcome

Scripture sentences

Gathering Prayer

Reading

Silent reflection

Prayers of thanksgiving & commendation

Committal

Blessing

 

If there are family members, I will meet them to see if they want anything special to occur and/or any poems etc read, but I can't see it being a long drawn out affair.

But if anyone out there has done this kind of service and has some ideas or liturgies I can use, please let me know.

Thank you.

The comments are closed.