Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Only a shadow...

One of the RC songs suggested for our songs of praise service got me thinking.  I think I like what it is saying, even though it does not qualify as even remotely decent poetry.  It speaks of the limitations of our responses to God...

 

The love I have for you, my Lord,

Is only a shadow of youe love for me;

Only a shadow of your love for me;

Your deep abiding love.

 

My own belief in you, my Lord,

Is only a shadow of your faith in me;

Only a shadow of your fiath in me;

Your deep and lasting faith.

 

My life is in your hands;

My life is in your hands.

My love for you will grow, my God.

Your light in me will shine.

 

The dream I dream today, my Lord,

Is only a shadow of your dream for me;

Only a shadow of all that will be;

If I but follow you.

 

The joy I feel today, my Lord,

Is only a shadow of your joys for me;

Only a shadow of your joys for me;

When we meet face to face.

Carey Landry from 'Hymns Old and New' pub. Kevin Mayhew (No 536)

 

That our dreams for ourselves are but a shadow of God's dreams for us - that seems to be something worth pondering.

The comments are closed.