Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

The Gospels and Elder Siblings

Like many of my friends I am an eldest child, and, like many of them, am by nature mainly sensible and responsible.  Also like many of them I have a younger sibling who has a more prodigal nature, is endless rescued by my surviving parent and causes me a mixture of anxiety and irritation.  Compared with many, my younger sibling is not that extreme, but without my mother's unswerving compassion it might be a different story.  Recently I've found myself getting annoyed by the situation, more that it is unfair to her than to me, and last night found myself identifying with the older brother in the Prodigal Son parable.

As I pondered this, and decided that the older brother was justified in being miffed, even if ungracious, I began to think about other older siblings in the gospels and decided we get a pretty bad press.  It is generally assumed that Martha was the older sister and/or oldest sibling, and she is more remembered for her grumbling at Mary's perceived laziness than for her recognition of Jesus as Christ.  In another short parable, the first (older?) son says he'll do what his father requires and then doesn't whilst the second (younger?) son says he won't and does.  You'd kind of hope that Jesus, being an eldest, would have been a bit kinder to/about us - and maybe his treatment of Martha reflects an understanding of her role - but on the whole we don't come out of it looking too great.

So, the upshot is that I'll endeavour to be a little kinder in my attitudes to my sibling, accept more generously that my mother does something Godly and try not to sulk when I feel like the grumpy older brother!

Comments

  • Some other older siblings:

    Ishmael

    Esau

    Reuben, etc.

    Aaron

    Miriam

    All David's brothers

    Pinky

    Tinga

    Mycroft.

    As a younger brother myself, by over 10 years, I am continually grateful for the forebearance and understanding of my elders and betters!

  • I hate to say this - but Tinga and Pinky are before my time and the identity of Mycroft I found via Wikipedia! But then I was always more of a Lisa/Hermione (even if the latter was an only)

  • And don't forget
    Tony Blair, Bill Clinton, Elizabeth II, Christabel Pankhurst, Bramwell Booth and Charles Haddon Spurgeon!

    In terms of the fictional characters, are you SURE Tinga was older than Tucker, Andy?

    I'm the oldest, but I always felt I was more like Jo March than Meg.

    As a parent, I am very conscious that my daughters are very different characters - but I endeavour to love them both, whatever scrapes they get themselves into.

  • Tinga was older than Tucker by 10 minutes, though they were born 5 minutes either side of midnight on 31 Dec/1 Jan. This gave Tucker something of an inferiority complex in the early days.

    Fortunately (as those of you old enough to remember the television series, like me, will know) they had a good friend in Willy Wombat, who helped them to work through their various sibling issues and by the time I started watching they were the best of friends.

The comments are closed.