Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Real Absence?

This from Lucy attracted my attention with its powerful idea of the sense of a 'God who doesn't turn up' when expected - or act as we might desire - and what they might say about how we understand (or don't) God.  It made me ponder again the concept of 'real absence' and some of the ideas in the apophatic tradition.  Good stuff to be pondering, and so relevant for the many I know who are experiencing their own 'dark nights' at the moment.

I will continue to mull over the idea of God not turning up - not least in relation to those servcies I sometimes go to where the leader invites Jesus/God/Holy Spirit to come and meet us, rather than inviting us to become aware of the presence of God who is more real than we are...

Thanks Lucy, for making me think.  Hope the 'unsettlement' process is going OK for you.

Comments

  • Glad I got you thinking...thanks for your post too. I wondered why the stats went up for my post today I guess its because of your link to mine!
    I was interested to read your post about women going to the inner city/small rural churches mostly on HM. We had a women's ministers/students gathering in Bristol at Sian's house a few weeks ago and I was thiniking the same thing.
    Hope things are going ok for you. As for settlement its early days, had an interview but wasn't right but I'm grateful for your prayers and support.
    Lucy

The comments are closed.