Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

That Thyatirical Woman and Misogyny?

For the first time in five years, someone from church has asked to talk to me about something they've been reading.  I ought to be pleased - but actually I'm troubled.  All I know is that her Bible-reading notes are troubling her because they are centred, I assume, on Revelation 2:18ff and 'that woman.'  It would appear that the note-writer takes a misogynist reading, and it is this she wants to check out, whilst clearly being fearful that her enquiry reflects the very 'spirit' she is being told to deplore and avoid.  A quick internet trawl shows up some scary pseudo-theology being peddled as the meaning fo this text, so much so that I've worded this post carefully to try to avoid cranks commenting!  But then they'd probably see me, being an ordained female, as an example of exactly what they fear.

I have found one sensible article online, from an AOG pastor, but wondered if any of you real theologians out there have any ideas of sensible books or studies I can point this woman to, to allay her fears and increase her understanding of the metaphors and principles that underlie this passage (and others).

Thank you!

Comments

  • hi I'd recommend the recent 2006 Blacks commentary by Ian Boxall

The comments are closed.