Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Biblical Commentaries?

I have recently been given a sum of money in my capacity as 'Baptist 'Vicar' of Dibley' (as distinct from to me as a person, even though the reality is that it is mine to use as I see fit, no questions asked).  I'd like to use some of it to purchase some Biblical commentaries to augment my woefully inadequate library.  The tempation is to opt for buying several from one of the popular series, so that I could get a little closer to the aim of one day having a commentary on every book of the Bible (beyond the couple of one volume things I already have).  I already have three or four commentaries on each of the gospels, so am not really looking for these.  But, if you could recommend one, reasonably priced (up to about £25) commentary that's fairly middle of the road theologically and suitable for use by preacher with a smattering of Greek vocabulary and no Hebrew, what might it be?  I'm after the kind that cover a single book of the Bible or at most a small inter-related set.  I'd rather buy less, better, commentaries than a 'bumper fun book of the Bible.'

Comments

  • I like the New Interpreters Bible series - most are good , you get several books in one volume and I generally find good for preaching.

    Other good series: Word, NICNT and Interpretation

  • I would go for the Interpretation series - the best of which is
    genesis, exodus, 1 + 2 samuel, song of songs, acts, 1 corinthians ...

    or more pricey is to go for New International Greek Testament Commentary (Paternoster / Eerdmans)

    I always think best to pick and choose from series ...

  • When I left college I used any money I got to collect the New Interpreters Bible series which has proved a worthwhile investment having a reasonable balance between interaction with the Biblical Text, awareness of critical issues and reflections that might spark helpful thoughts for preaching. I've also got most of the interpretation series, some of which are really good some of which aren't.

    I've then collected one off volumes from a range of series, Word, NICNT (and OT), NIGTC (as Andy above). Whenever I do a preaching series on a book I try to buy one new commentary.

    Generally the commentaries on my bookshelves are for use in sermon preparation and the like. If I want to do some more serious work on a particular text I tend to use a theological library.

  • Hello All,
    thanks these are helpful suggestions, but I realise now I probably didn't ask the question I meant! I am aware of these series and have some volumes from several of them. I guess what I meant - and didn't explain properly (still overworked and exhausted) - was, are there specific one off commentaries that people have found superb such as 'So-and so on Joshua' kind of thing? Not, by the way, that I specifically want anything on Joshua, cos I don't. Just trying to find some recommendations of 'must haves' I guess.

  • Maybe we need a book on hermeneutics as we clearly did not get author intent!

  • Hello Catriona - Blessed are those who resource our libraries, for they will recieve their reward in even more gooder sermons.

    The New Interpreter's Bible, Vol 1 has Fretheim on Genesis and Brueggemann on Exodus. *****

    The same series Volume 4 Has Clinton McCann on Psalms and Carol Newsom on Job - both are *****

    Luke Timothy Johnson on Hebrews (New Testament Library - Westminster John Knox) is a very fine mid-range commentary of 400 pages

    Francis Moloney on John (Sacra Pagina) has literary sensitivity and theological depth a combination not easily found elsewhere.

    And of course, Sam Balentine on Job (Smyth and Helwys) is a six star commentary - I've read it through and it is breathtaking in its sweep of pastorally alert theology, interpreted human experience, and these explored by thorough exegesis that is theologically to the point. It is also one of the finest produced books - though not cheap.

    Hope these suggestions help - whatever you choose, enjoy the gift

  • Here's my list:

    Anything by Brueggeman - Genesis, 1 & 2 Samuel, 1 & 2 Kings, Isaiah, Jeremiah

    Ched Myers - binding the strong man: political reading of Mark

    Wes Howard Brook - Unveiling Empire: Reading Revelation then and now (see also Simon Woodman's recent book on Revelation)

    J. Louis Martyn - Galations (Anchor Bible Commentary) - fan-tastic!!

    Anthony Thiselton - 1 Corinthians - both the book long one and the shorter pastoral one

  • Lucky you, having unexpected money to spend. Some gems I've found:
    in the Berit Olam series -- David Jobling on 1 Samuel (2 Samuel is in prep); Jerome Walsh on 1 Kings; R Cohn on 2 Kings, all of which are so good I can sit down and read them straight through like 'real' books
    A Jewish take on Genesis 'The Beginning of Desire' by Avivah Gottlieb Zornberg

  • You could be radical and buy some from the 'Feminist Companion series' but I confess they are more essay than verse by verse commentaries.

The comments are closed.