Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Why do we blog?

At the meeting today there was a request for articles to include in the organisation's publication.  Foolishly I said I'd do something on blogging - not least because I am aware of someone who has written a brief theological piece on this.  So, rather than just me waffling on about why I blog and what I think is good blogging etiquette or posting ethics, I thought I'd canvas a few views from readers and writers alike.  The only wrong answers are untrue answers - and anything that breaches my private code of blogging etiquette or ethics.  Comments, which can be anonymous, are invited from Baptists and non-Baptists, ministers and real people ;-) , bloggers, lurkers and commenters.  It would be helpful if you indicate which you are but not essential.  Also, if you happen to be a Baptist-, a minister- or a theological-blogger and happy for your blog to be mentioned in what I write, please let me know.

Some thoughts you might want to share are...

why you read/write blogs?

what you read/write about?

what rules/etiquette do you endeavour to observe (if you write or comment)

do blogs have a useful lifespan or sell-by date?

if you blog, has yours changed over time?

if you blog, why is it called whatever it's called?

and anything else you think is interesting (and publishable!)

Comments

  • OK, I'll try to start off.

    I think you know my labels - but for the record United Reformed Minister who reads, sometimes comments, occasionally blogs

    1 - I read blogs to further my knowledge, prompt my thinking and see what is going on - yours is a good example, I'm fascinated/intrigued/interested in the way you are working in a small congregation and your reflections upon it - some I have found relevant for my own situations, others have helped me to think about mission in a different way. I don't really read journals - but I probably use blogs the way your Rev. Dr uses Journals, it's just that what I'm reading are the works in progress rather than the carefully considered, edited product.

    I write blogs because I want to explore my thinking and see how others respond. But my blog has largely been for my own congregations - another way of communicating - and has also been an attempt to advertise our churches. The former has worked to an extent, I don't think the latter has worked.

    I read about church life, theological thinking and blog sermons, reflections and have experimented with themes for a while.

    rules/etiquette - nothing personal about other people, nothing I wouldn't say in person.

    I'm sure there is a lifespan - when there is nothing new to say or nothing significant to share.

    My blog started as sermons, hymns and other bits and pieces of writing - but the time came when the sermons dealt with specific issues in the churches and didn't seem relevant for the open world (and I got out of the habit) then used it as a way of reflecting on sabbatical and sharing it with congregations - now considering how I might use it in a new situation.

    name - I wrote a hymn that included the phrase "the speechless sing" as an alternative to lame a leaping etc., and about the same time a dissertation that looked at the role of hymn singing in congregation that the title "Speechless Sing" seemed appropriate - as a blog title Speechless seemed a nicely ironic title for a preacher.

  • I think I blog for a number of reasons. Here are some. Firstly, there is something about being happy to share thoughts in public for all to read. Secondly, i like writing and thought it was a good way to record thoughts. Thirdly, I've found its a good way to get free books. Fourthly, its a good way to network with others. Fourthly, its a good way to keep to date with stuff happening outside of the local and to engage with conversation with others on stuff.

  • I read blogs for a variety of reasons - some I read just because I enjoy reading them, some I read to keep up with friends or family, some I read to help me keep fresh in ministry, where I am able to find ideas, resources, encouragement and hope.

    Why I write blogs is a more difficult question. I confess that I have a three or four current blogs, and that the internet is littered with a number of other blogs that were started half-heartedly as I gradually got into the blogging world.

    I have a blog which I use almost as a database to store resources, ideas, stories and illustrations which might at some stage in the future become useful. I found that blogging is one of the easiest ways of storing information and organising it into a searchable database - with categories and tags I'm normally able to find what I want.

    My main public blog is a bit of a mixture, but it's generally church and ministry related. It's the blog that has the highest readership, although that's not very high, and I'm grateful for the occasional interaction on it.

    I also have a more personal blog, again it's in the public domain although I don't advertise it, where I put more non-church related things. That's a blog that I've really only just begun.

    [I also have a silly photo blog as well as posting a lot of my photos to Flickr (under the name of 'Boggy' if anyone's interested). I also have a Facebook page.]

    I do get frustrated occasionally by my main blog because I know that a number of people in the church read my blog, and there are things that I would love to say, not specifically about individuals but in general, that I don't feel able to say - I'd love to be able share the occasional frustration, or humorous story, but that's not possible!

    I'm also in the process of producing a blog which can act as an alternative website for our church, because our present website is not always well-managed.

    I think the internet is a great tool, and sometimes a great timewaster. Blogging is a part of that!

    I ought also to have said I've started a new private network blog on Ning, where I and my pastoral care co-ordinator are able to keep in touch about some of the pastoral needs in the church. I found that very useful!

  • I read blogs because it keeps me in touch with friends in a deeper way than Facebook. Its helps me think through a huge variety of topics, it makes me laugh, think and cry. Its keeps me up to date with books that others read and conferences etc (thanks Andy especially).

    I write because it gives me space to think and I value other people's reactions, though the way that works out bemuses me as its never on the subjects I think might provoke most reaction!

    I wanted to be anonymous so I could reflect on the joys of minstry but that has proved impossible as others work out who I am and then name me on the links on their blogs! Hey Ho that's life - it means it has been read more but I just need to be more careful what I write.

  • why you read/write blogs?

    *Read cos I'm nosy and want to be in touch with the latest thinking mainly so I can pass it on and look good.

    *Write cos I want to promote stuff and ideas I think matter; cos I want to test out ideas; cos I like thinking out lout; cos I enjoy having an audience; cos I want to learn to write better and there's nothing like practice.

    what you read/write about?

    *Mission, ministry, Baptist stuff, evangelicalsim, preaching, emerging church, language and random other stuff that strikes me as interesting.

    what rules/etiquette do you endeavour to observe (if you write or comment)

    * Not given this much but retrospectively, to respect the anonymity of those who have given me permission to spout about them, to try to be provocative, only slag stuff off that really deserves but generally not spend too long reflecting on what I'm doing but rather just to splurge.

    do blogs have a useful lifespan or sell-by date?

    *Don't know yet, hope not.

    if you blog, has yours changed over time?

    *Not sure

    if you blog, why is it called whatever it's called?

    * To quote my explanation on my blog - "Why nah then?
    It’s friendly – nah then is a form of greeting where I come from: “Nah then Bill. Fancy a pint?” Hopefully this will be a friendly place to visit. (Pronunciation guide – when used in this sense accent the second word.)

    It indicates logical progression – as such it became my first ever homiletical mannerism. As a teenage preacher whenever I wanted to make a link between one block of a sermon and the next I would pause, and say nah then before continuing. Hopefully the entries on this blog might have a whiff of the logical about them. They will also from time to time touch on preaching. (Pronunciation guide – when used in this sense accent the first word.)

    It’s northern – a useful reminder that roots matter and of course there are no better roots than northern roots; after all Jesus himself was a northerner. More pompously, as a northern word it is a useful reminder that the eternal Word must always speak with a local accent. Abstract universal truth that never touches earth in a particular place at a particular time is not a lot of use to anyone. Just in case you aren’t as blessed as me n’ Jesus, nah then translates as “now then”.

The comments are closed.