Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Too Good to Keep Quiet

This morning's Encounter Easter event was simply splendid, truly marvellous, totally wonderful, etc. etc.  At least a hundred people came along during the course of the morning, of whom around 50 were children.  Apart from our own impromptu Good Friday earthquake when a table collapsed destroying several miniature Easter gardens (which we reconstructed with amazing speed!) everything went superbly well.

IMG_0041.JPGThe labyrinth (borrowed from EMBA) was walked by at least a dozen adults and about half a dozen children.  Although a couple of lads thought it was fun just to walk all over the place, most really entered into it, and it was quite moving to see a little girl of around four carefully carry her pebble to the cross at the centre.

Having prepared all the stations it was lovely to see it all set up - even if the mat was about 6" too wide for the space - and surprisingly moving to walk it myself.  Those who took part seemed to find it a helpful means of reflection/meditation/prayer and worth repeating on another occasion.

The children had a whale of a time making cards, miniature gardens, chocolate nests and clay crosses.  The parents had a lovely time chilling out over tea/coffee and hot cross buns.  A lot of the church folk arrived just in time for the 'service' (mutter) but enough came earlier and enjoyed the ambiance of the morning.

IMG_0060.JPGWe ended the morning with everyone gathered in a sort of circle around an enormous free standing cross (from the Meths) for an act of worship led by the vicar.  We sang two songs that are exclusive to us!  We are blessed to have a wonderful Anglican woman, whose life's work was teaching people how to teach primary school music, who can compose child friendly songs and tunes at the drop of a hat.  Here she is, teaching us the actions to her latest song 'I love you so much' which we sang accompanied by piano accordion and double bass.

“I love you so much”, Jesus told his disciples,

“For just as the Father loved me, I love you.

“I love you so much.  You must love one another

“As I have loved you.”

“I love you so much”, Jesus told his disciples,

“For just as the Father loved me, I love you.

“I love you so much.  You must love one another

“As I have loved you.”


“I love you so much.” This is Jesus’s message,

With arms stretched out wide on the cross on the hill.

“So love one another, and be my disciples,

For I love you still.”

“I love you so much”, Jesus told his disciples,

“For just as the Father loved me, I love you.

“I love you so much.  You must love one another

“As I have loved you.”

 

“I love you so much.” You can read all about it

In John chapter fifteen verse twelve and verse nine.

“Then love one another if you want to be true

“Disciples of mine.”

“I love you so much”, Jesus told his disciples,

“For just as the Father loved me, I love you.

“I love you so much.  You must love one another

“As I have loved you.”


Then lift the cross higher and worship Lord Jesus,

His arms out to welcome, his heart full of love,

And, by your example, help others to follow

Our Saviour above.

“I love you so much”, Jesus told his disciples,

“For just as the Father loved me, I love you.

“I love you so much.  You must love one another

“As I have loved you.”

words and music (c) Hazel Hudson 2009

 

Everyone had a good morning: children were entertained for free and went home laden with things they'd made, adults were given space to relax or reflect; everyone had an encounter with Easter.  Job done - it is accomplished - how true!

 

The comments are closed.