Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Liturgy for End of Pastorate?

When we get new ministers we have big jamboree services called Inductions - evidently the etymology of this is Latin not Greek so I can't change the 'in ' for 'ex' to make the opposite for a final not-so-jamboree service.  Maybe this is part of the problem? The antonymns I found online include 'rejection' 'expulsion' and 'blackballing' - I hope none of these is what we're about!!

I want to make my last service at Dibley a formal ending, in which we will give thanks for what has been good, forgive each other for, and let go of, those things that either 'party' has muffed along the way, release each other from the covenants that bound us and commend each other to God's care.  So a kind of sanctified ecclesiastical divorce maybe?  I have been starting to look around for any suitable liturgies both in books and on line (and I have Human Rites in case anyone was about to suggest it) with no success.  So, does anyone know of anything that's out there or that they have used themselves which would give me a starter for ten?  If not, then I'll have to put more effort into developing something and then I'll post it with comments on how it went.  I am looking at early September (to give me a notional break between churches!) so no great urgency yet.

Comments

  • Don't suppose you'd want to begin the service with These are the Days of Elijah? :)) Probaly not......

  • LOL

    Alas the majority of the good people of Dibley don't know it so it won't be possible. I am greatly disappointed as you can imagine. ;-)

  • Abduction? (actually no, that's 'taking from' isn't it? Not quite the whole thought you might want to convey)

    Not wanting to be pedantic, but aren't ex and ducto both Latin? I've just never heard the combination in English. How about exodus?

    As to the days of Elijah... you could use them without the music but with a congregational response, like the phons and the antiphons.

    Minister: These are the days of Elijah

    Congregation: Oh no they're not!

    Minister: Well these are sort of like the days of Enoch. For he walked with God and then was taken away.

    Congregation: You're trying to work abduction into the service aren't you?

    Sorry I can't be of more help!

The comments are closed.