Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Obstructing God?

So, this morning at D+1 I delivered my 'obstructing Jesus' sermon.  On the whole I think it was fairly well received - one of my folk said to me afterwards "thank you for that... I think!"  I think that was praise.  Someone else said she almost stood up and applauded (now that would be a first).  I think my best comment was from one of my folk who said 'you know how you never notice your car or your watch until they're not there...'

What was so amazing?  Nothing really, I just shared what I'd been reflecting on as it relates to these two little churches whose combined congregation was only the size mine usually is.  We began with me asking the question 'can we obstruct Jesus?' to which pretty much half said 'no' and half said 'yes' - it was noticeable that all the 'yes' votes came from my lot.  Using the Mark 6 passage we then explored a bit about what happened there and how it might be a bit like us.  The people at Nazareth weren't bad people, they included some very religious folk, but for they thought they knew Jesus so well, they couldn't recognise who he was.  So, how are we a like that?  Then we looked at the sending out of the 12 in twos and how scary that must have been for them - and what might Jesus be saying to us about leaving our security and going out into the community around us?  We also thought a bit about how we endeavour to discern the mind of Christ (the church meeting!) and questions about we decide we've succeeded - 51% 67% 90% 100% - or whether we simply affirm our own wills.

After the service one of my folk who has orginally thuoght we could not obstruct Jesus, that he could do anything, commented that he know realised it was more complex - that free will has implications for God as well as for us.   Jesus can do anything consitent with his divine nature - and running roughshod over free will it isn't.  Or at least that's my heresy!

On balance a good morning's work I think.  Probably didn't win me any friends, especially at D+1, but I felt I discharged my responsibility - which is what actually matters.

The comments are closed.