Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Lists

In the last couple of days people have asked me for two lists which they seem to think I maintain - the Girls' Brigade membership list at D+2 and the church membership list at Dibley.  I have now supplied said lists to those requesting them.  Interesting, in updating and handing them over, to reflect on how many poeple I've had contact with these past few years (hundreds though not all on either list) and to wonder what impact on their relationship with God knowing me has had (ulp!).  These people are all part of my history and I part of theirs even if no one ever knows our names and we forget each other.  It reminds me of something that I am told Bonhoeffer said that is important and runs along the lines of 'it doens't matter if our names our recorded in the history books, what matters is that our names are written in the Lamb's book of life.'  I think he's right, and somehow in this statement an appropriate humility is balanced by the assurance of our infinite worth in the eyes of God.

Maybe some Bonhoeffer scholar can give me an exact quote and source?

The comments are closed.