Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Contingency and Faith

D+2 have invited my folk to join them for a picnic and short act of worship on Sunday 16th August, and most of them want to go, so we're cancelling our service to attend.  I asked the organiser what the wet weather contingency was , 'oh, we're praying for good weather' I was told.  Biting my tongue quite hard, I then asked 'and if God says no...?'  Esentially, it would be abandoned, there was not much by way of contingency.

So now we are going to a picnic but if it is raining at midday we will instead gather at the manse for an impromptu service at our normal time.  Which means (a) mucking up my preaching scheme (mutter mutter mutter) and (b) having to have something to hand just in case.  So, do I capitulate and pray for sunshine (which feels like lousy theology to me) or have a standby sermonette on praying 'thy will be done'?!

Comments

  • I think the sermonette on 'Thy will be done' is the way to go.

    (I took one of our church members to hospital yesterday to visit her husband. She was praying earnestly for a car-parking space in the car park, but there wasn't one. So we drove round and round until a space became available, and she was extremely grateful to God for that answer to prayer. I didn't want to tell her that we'd have kept going around until a space did become available)

The comments are closed.