Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

"Company Dis-miss"

Tonight the D+2 Girls' Brigade met for the first and last time this academic year - a party to celebrate 46 years of witness and service which ended today. Around fifty folk, including the founding officers, were present for an evening of food, chat and, for the girls, games.  At the end of the evening we gave each girl an age-appropriate Bible story book; many of them asked us to sign them as a keepsake, which I found rather touching.  I returned home with arms-ful of flowers and no more vases in which to put them. Alas neither 28 years a GB leader nor Baptist ministerial training/experience have equippped me to conjure up vases ex nihilo, shocking I know, but there you have it.  Various containers have been press-ganged into service to hold the blooms overnight until I can sort out something better.

As someone for whom GB was very formative in her faith-story, I am sad that D+2 comapny has closed, though I do appreciate and understand the reasons.  I am glad that we have been able to show these girls something of God's love, which never fails, and pray that one day the seeds sown will burst forth into glorious bloom.  In the meantime, I am looking forward to getting to know Girls' Brigade Scotland, Greater Glasgow Division.

Comments

  • Ikea 'vasen' vases are cheap and cheerful. Sadly they have gone up 30p in the new catalogue, but I always keep a few in store, cos they are useful sometimes to actually TAKE a gift of flowers in.
    Yes it IS hard when a GB company closes- I am sure you will be involved again in Scotland, and I pray for all those girls at Dibley that the seed sown will go on to bear fruit.

The comments are closed.