Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Humbling

This evening was my 'leaving do' at Dibley - which turned out to be a very enjoyable, and very humbling affair.

I was amazed how many people gave up their time to come, to bring food, to share thoughts and at their incredible generosity.

There were folk from the lunch club, folk from all the cluster churches, folk from churches together, a message from my Regional Minister and of course most people from dear old Dibley BC itself.

Lots of people spoke - and I was reminded of things I'd forgotten about doing, so long ago and far away they seemed, as well as realising just how busy and fruitful my time here really has been.

I guess there were probably the greater part of a hundred of us there, which for a church of low thirties membership is pretty amazing.

The gifts were generous, the words warm, and the occasion joyful (despite a few guests shedding a few tears) but above all I felt, yup, with God's help I've done alright, and I kind of hope that the Almighty enjoyed it all too.

Tomorrow is the last official act - the last service - and I pray it will be the right one for this time.

It is nice to hear kind words, and we all need to be encouraged and uplifted now and again; but more important somehow is to know in my heart of hearts that I've done my best and, on balance, have been a half-decent minister of the gospel of Christ.

Comments

  • Blessings for today : )

The comments are closed.