Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Release of Covenant

Here is the liturgy we will use tomorrow morning at Dibley to release one another from the covenant promises we made almost six years ago.  They deliberately echo the words of the 'Second Pattern of Induction' from Patterns and Prayers (p 190-191) which we used at that time.

 

Release of Covenant

Minister:

On [induction date], before God and in the presence of many witnesses, I declared that I believed in my heart that I had been called by God to serve in pastoral oversight of this church and congregation. I now believe that call has been fulfilled and that God has brought us to a parting of the ways.

 

People:

On [induction date], before God and in the presence of many witnesses, we declared that we believed you had been called by God to be our minister. We, too, now believe that call has been fulfilled and that God has brought us to a parting of the ways.

 

Minister:

At my induction I promised to carry out this ministry with enthusiasm and dedication, to set God’s word before people, to lead in the conduct of worship, to work in partnership with deacons, members and attenders, and to encourage you all to carry out Christ’s mission in the local community and in the world.

I have done my best to keep my promises.

For the ways in which I have succeeded, I give thanks to God.

For the ways I have failed, I apologise and seek forgiveness.

 

People:

For the ways in which you have succeeded in keeping your promises, we give thanks to God.

For the ways you have failed, we accept your apologies and forgive you.


At your induction we promised to encourage and support you, working together cheerfully and humbly in extending the work of the kingdom of God

We have done our best to keep our promises.

For the ways in which we have succeeded, we give thanks to God.

For the ways we have failed, we apologise and seek forgiveness.

 

Minister:

For the ways in which you have succeeded in keeping your promises, I give thanks to God.

For the ways you have failed, I accept your apologies and forgive you.


We have declared before God our belief that this ministry is now complete, I ask you therefore to release me from my covenant to you.

 

People:

We release you to God’s safekeeping

May you continue to walk in Christ’s footsteps and grow in maturity as his faithful disciple.


We have declared before God our belief that this ministry is now complete, we ask you therefore to release us from our covenant to you.

 

Minister:

I release you to God’s safekeeping

May you continue to walk in Christ’s footsteps and grow in maturity as his faithful disciples.

 

All:

We have declared our belief that this ministry is now complete and have released one another from the covenant that bound us. We now pray God’s blessing for one another:

May the Lord bless us and keep us

The Lord make his face to shine upon us and be gracious unto us

The Lord lift up the light of his countenance upon us and give us peace

Now and forevermore Amen

The comments are closed.