Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

The Communion of Saints

Exactly a week ago, I sat in the tiny parish church of Our Lady of the Beehive near to Dibley where the parish preist and I met once a week of morning prayer.  This morning at the same time, I sat in my new place of work and used the same (Anglican) form for morning prayer.  Within the liturgy is a simple but very meaningful statements:

The night has passed, and the day lies open before us; let us pray with one heart and mind.

In my minds eye I could see my former colleague sat on the left side front pew in the tiny chapel uttering these words, and had a real sense that even when one person says them ostensibly alone it is as part a greater 'we', as part of the communion of saints, the invisible but interconnected unending cycle of prayer and praise.

I hope that in time I will find others with whom I can share morning prayer, but for now the mystery of interconnectedness will do just fine.

Comments

  • Greetings (as a former member at your new place) - God bless your new ministry there.

    I'm sure you will be able to find Morning Prayer said at one of the three Episcopal churches in the neighbourhood - the Cathedral, St Silas' or St Brides.

    They each represent a different tradition within the SEC so you should be able to find something that feeds you.

    Here is a map with the locations of the churches in the Diocese http://mapalist.com/Public/PublicMapViewerShell.aspx?mapid=50478

    Kennedy

The comments are closed.