Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Influential Thinkers

On my morning blog trawl I just discovered that two significant theologians had died in the last in the last couple of weeks, Edward Schillebeeckx (who must qualify as the theologian with the most mis-spelled name, I always have to look it up) and Mary Daly.

When I was at college I took a course entitled 'women and theology' which was a broad introduction to feminist theology, something of which I was rather wary having been in churches that saw such things as, at best, rather iffy.  Engaging with a whole range of women theologians and writers, some who call(-ed) themselves feminist, some who didn't or who were dead long before the term was invented, was a real privilege and I thoroughly enjoyed the course.  People whose work we were 'made' to read included, along with others I cannot recall the exact names of,  Julian of Norwich, Dorothy L Sayers, Alice Walker, Elisabeth Schussler Fiorenza (another one I can't spell!) Rosemary Radford Ruether and, inevitably, Mary Daly.  And I have to admit it was Mary Daly whose work moved me most - whilst I found myself disagreeing with so much she said I loved the energy and vitality of her writing and her passion for her cause.  I remember saying in a class that I found it at once repelling and compelling, repulsive and compulsive.  Maybe, many years later, if I re-read it I would feel differently, maybe I wouldn't.  What I do know is that by engaging with something way outside my (then) comfort zone I learned from this woman whose thinking was indeed profound and powerful.

I did read some things by Schillebeeckx but alas I cannot recall what; it obviously impacted me less than did Ms Daly.

In the passing of these two scholars the world has lost two gifted and respected theologians.  Quite what St Peter makes/made of Mary Daly is something beyond our ken, but I'm fairly confident it is/was interesting!!

I thank God for these people whose honesty and integrity shaped their theological writing and in some way shaped my own thinking.  Since both were, at least once upon a time, RC it seems fitting to end with an RC blessing:

Eternal rest grant to them, oh Lord

Let perpetual light sine uipon them

May they rest in peace.

Amen.

Comments

  • Your response to Mary Daly exactly sums up my own - despite not always agreeing with her I loved her energy, creativity and wit. The wit especially seemed to be something that many fellow learners just didn't get and she drew a lot of angry responses when I did 'Women and Theology'. I managed to pick up most of her books in a charity shop - I love this row of books with titles like 'Pure Lust' in huge unmissable letters!

  • Hi Ingrid, good to hear from you.

    I hope all is well in Nottingham and that your new church is being good to you. I'm sure they will be fascinated by Mary Daly's titles too!!

The comments are closed.