Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

The Ministers of Today...

Yesterday I was in a conversation with someone who once did a training placement at The Gathering Place.  "Of course," he said, " you have to wear a dog collar there... and robes..."

He was suitably astounded when I told him that on Sunday not only did I not wear any of the above (nor do I any Sunday) but that I wore trousers and a tee-shirt with a fairtrade slogan emblazoned on the front.  I also didn't tell him I said 'Bog off' in my sermon - an allusion to the B.O.G.O.F. offers in supermarkets etc.  Between that and saying 'F in L' (the course in theology I did as part of my training) at a recent church meeting I think I have demonstrated that the ministers of today are even worse than the youff.

Comments

  • Hi Catriona - I don't think we know each other personally but I'm following your blog and I guess you at times are following that of IBTS, which I sort of administrate! Am away at Regents Park on study leave (so our blog is a bit 'dead' at the moment). I'm trying to complete my PhD which is on the challenge of singleness for baptistic churches in Europe. Have stumbled upon your dissertation - would love to have a chat, especially if you've been thinking further on this after completing your work!
    Could not locate your email, hence this 'comment' here! Hope that's ok. If you would feel so inclined, email me.
    Warm greetings,
    Lina

  • Hi Lina,
    I'd be very happy to chat (and to host you if they'd let you come up to Glasgow). I'm glad this topic is getting pursued. I haven't done any more formal work since my dissertation but still think it's an important issue. I will email you via the details you left so you can get in touch properly.

    Btw I enjoy the IBTS blog and 'drop by' quite often.

  • Hi again Lina,
    I have emailed you but got an auto reply to say you are on study leave. I am reluctant to publish my email address on the blog (single woman thing!) but if you are unable to pick up your emails, you can find my email address in the 2009 BUGB directory on page 213. That ought to be on a shelf somewhere at Regents...

  • I know you both and can put you in touch - would that help! You do should definitely meet....

  • I also know you both and agree - you should meet!

  • :) Thank you friends! We've now 'met'!
    - Lina

The comments are closed.