Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

A Noisy Book?

I have just finished reading Lucy Winkett's Our Sound is Our Wound, the 2010 Archbishop's Lent Book.  It is an honest and brave exploration of a range of topics through the metaphor of sound.  If anything I found it a 'noisy' book - each chapter full to bursting with ideas, quotations and anecdotes.  For me, with a linear mind, it didn't quite work, and I found it too busy, too buzzy... almost becoming a noise in its own right.  But that quite possibly says more about me than the book - a quick trawl of the Internet suggests others have found it profoundly helpful.

What it did remind me of, though, is the need for occasional stillness, of time to be quiet, of the moments, often late at night, when I swear I do hear the angels singing, if only fleetingly, before consciousness dulls my sensitivity.

Not one for my 'top tips' but definitely readable and accessible.

The comments are closed.