Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Coffee Club

This morning I am working from home because it is Coffee Club day (aka Wednesday) and I am going along for the first time in ages; well a few weeks anyway, it only began in January.  Since it's a 20 minute walk one way to church and then a 25-30 min walk to the pub form there, or 15 minute walk another way from here, it's a non-choice really.

esquire house g12 3hu.jpgCoffee Club is a very informal gathering in a local-ish pub that serves coffee all day long.  It kind of emerged and was kind of a response to one of my sermons (at least according to the person who makes sure it happens).  Simply, anyone who wants to meets in the pub at 10:30 on a Wednesday morning to share a good blether over a cuppa. It is not a 'holy huddle' - meeting in a very public space prevents that - and it has very blurry edges.  On average around 8-12 folk gather, not always the same ones, some of whom would otherwise sit at home with a lonely cup of instant coffee or a tea-bag on a string.

I am enthused by this endeavour, so simple, so effective.  Not everyone likes it, like all churches we have those who look askance when you say the word 'pub' or who baulk at the idea of a meeting sans epilogue.  Maybe I'm biased, actually no maybe, I am biased, but my past experience of the effectiveness of out-of-church befriending over comestibles means I delight in this new expression of gospel living.  The fact that it happens without me and that I can pop along now and then is even better.

So, Gatherers and others visiting this proud city, should you be around on a Wednesday morning feel free to join us for high communion in tea and coffee!  (I should note that once licensing hours begin you can, if it's your wish, also get something stronger, and if you are in no rush to leave they sell inexpensive lunches too...)

The comments are closed.