Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Dissent, Disagreement and Blind Prejudice

This seemed to the theme of today's BUGB e-news sweep - the BUGB council discussions on women in ministry and a very thoughtful blog post by David Kerrigan of BMS here, a B&B owner who turned away pre-booked guests because she objected to their relationship, a Christan police organisation feeling it had been snubbed.

I am interested in the BUGB talks not just because I'm a woman and a minister in general, but because my 'story' was one of those told (thankfully not one of the absolute horror stories alluded to by David, though I was once asked how I would fit in my housework and serve a church, and have been chastised for revealing too much knee while preaching!).  I am blessed to have a church who accept me and who also accept those who struggle with women in ministry per se.  A real moment of grace recently was when someone twice my age conceded that I was called to ministry, even if she is perhaps not yet convinced of the general principle.

Tonight's Bible study takes us to the Exodus 1 story of the Hebrew midwives and their civil disobedience born of conviction of divine mandate.  AMong the set questions is one to think of contemproary examples of people who disobeyed out of faith conviction.  All of which sounds fine until I read the article about the guest house and see that one person's conviction is another's idea of injustice.  I certainly don't condone the actions (or apparent attitudes) of the owners, but can see how they could find means of justification from the Exodus 1 story.  All of which shows that nothing is ever easy.  Does God call people to disobey the law?  Yes, we cry, when we think of Martin Luther King. No, we shout, when we hear disagree with the standpoint taken.

To disagree is to be Baptist (I'm sure that's what the dreaded 'Baptist DNA' is really about), to disagree honestly, openly, respectfully and with willingness to be shown wrong, that is.  To show blind prejudice, to be dogmatic, to be rude, inhospitable, callous or offensive is not.

Of course, you may disagree with me, in general, in particular - but if we leap to quick, easy answers and refuse even to listen to that which challenges or offends, we risk emulating that we revile.  I need to listen carefully to myself and remember always that the other person just might be right...

Comments

  • I was asked if my husband would mind me going out in the evenings!

  • "To disagree is to be Baptist (I'm sure that's what the dreaded 'Baptist DNA' is really about), to disagree honestly, openly, respectfully and with willingness to be shown wrong, that is. To show blind prejudice, to be dogmatic, to be rude, inhospitable, callous or offensive is not."

    I'd widen it somewhat by replacing 'Baptist' with 'Christian' (as a non-Baptist myself - does this disqualify my comment?!), but would heartily endorse the importance of positive, constructive disagreement. It's a skill that seems to be in danger of being lost to us in all areas of life - with personal attacks replacing reasoned debate, and a seeming inability to distinguish the person from the argument.

  • "as a non-Baptist myself - does this disqualify my comment?!"

    No, of course not... you can be an honorary one if you like, or not if you don't. Feel free to disagree! ;-)

The comments are closed.