Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Fusion Cuisine: The Square-Sausage Cob

As I have noted before, the guys who run the coffee shop opposite church have links with Leicestershire, one of them originating only a few miles from Dibley (each was impressed the other knew of the place they'd come from to Glasgow).  Today I opted for the 'square sausage roll' for lunch, a choice which requires you to know where the invisible hyphen goes... there are even Scots to whom they have to explain it is the sausage that is square (Lorne sausage) rather than it being the oxymoron of a square sausage-roll.

After a few minutes the Scotsman delivered my roll and announced 'one lovely healthy square sausage cob,' reflecting the fact that, so I discovered, he had spent 20 years in the Midlands.  I opted not to disabuse him of his assumption that Midland idiom was universally English (in Liverpool it'd be a sausage bap, in St Helens a sausage balm, in Blackburn I suspect a sausage on a teacake*, in Warrington probably a sausage in a bun and in Northampton just a 'sausage roll, no not that sort').

But I liked the fusion cookery and, even if the roll was not a cob, it made me smile and enjoy the thoughtfulness and good humour of my neighbour.

* I used to have a colleague in industry who came from Blackburn who introduced me to the concept of local delicacy known as a 'dab on a teacake' which it transpired was a potato cake/scone served in a bread roll.  Yum....

Comments

  • Love - and miss - Lorne sausage....

  • In my bit of Yorkshire, Scone (rhymes with throne) has jam on it and Scone (rhymes with none) is fish and potato covered in batter.

  • I think P is geetting his revenge on me for impersonating him on Facebook. As you know I'm not from Yorkshire but an altogether superior place....

  • I guessed! As for scuns.... and skOnes.... everyone knows it rhymes with 'gone'...

The comments are closed.