Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Just Glorious!

There doesn't seem to be too much to talk about at the moment, and I am trying not to post merely from habit or (self-imposed) expectation.  It is fine to say nothing if there's nothing to say.

This weekend has been just glorious.  Weather reaching near summer temperatures, windows flung wide and Glaswegians shunning their woollies to dine al fresco in skimpy tops.  At the same time, there is still a little snow on the top of the hills I can see from my window, glinting defiantly in the morning sun.

WECWC-april 2010.jpgOn Saturday 32 of us shared the West End Christian Walking Club outing to New Lanark.  The unexpected high temperatures, lack of breeze and squelchy mud, calf deep in places, coupled with a slightly longer than usual walk, made it unusually demanding but a great time was had by all.

This photo sent to me by one of our number evidently caused some amusement as it appears I have a person hidden in my back pack...

The Falls of Clyde were in spate, so looked amazing, and we were able to view the peregrine falcons nesting along the route (Operation Peregrine provides a viewing area as well as ensuring the birds are kept safe).  Truly a glorious day out, concluded with good food and a birthday cake for the club's leader.

Sunday dawned equally bright and sunny and I was impressed that anyone came to church when the temptation to spend the day in the sunshine must have been enormous.  I had invited the Sunday School team round for lunch and a meeting, so 11 (eight workers, two children and me) of us sat down in my kitchen to share food.  It was, for me at least, an enjoyable occasion, with plenty of laughter as well as some serious conversation.  A's cranachan (typical recipe here) made with her husband's 12 year old single malt was potent to say the least (I only managed one spoonful) and E's banana bread a delight.  Some of us were introduced to marmite cheese (see the website for mamitealoholics here) which is truly superb, while others discovered root vegetable crisps.  Truly a day of new experiences all round.

The day drew to a close with a gentle, meditative evening service focusing on some of my favourite Easter events - Thomas' and Peter's encounters with Jesus - and a chunk of Matthew 25.  We sang 'Come with me, come wander' (BPW 333) a capella which was stunningly beautiful and there was a picture on our service sheets of a tube 'station' called resurrection (here).  Each of these took me back to other Easters in other places ... singing the hymn accompanied by a saxophone in Manchester, and preaching on 'being a place called resurrection' when I was in Leicestershire (near Dibley is a place called Anstey, evidently a corruption of Anastasis which means resurrection).  It felt a good, nay, glorious, end to my first Easter connecting past and present, sharing a journey into the future and being reminded of my own calling to walk with Christ.  So thank you B for a special moment.

Today is 'off' and includes the inglorious prospect of seeing my new dentist, but the sun is lovely and Glasgow is glowing... another good day in prospect.

Comments

  • I miss the Falls of Clyde - far too long since I have been there!

The comments are closed.