Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

More Regional Dialects (English This Time)

I thought I ought to post this one to balance the last one... even if both are really 'against' myself.

This morning I popped into the cafe over the road from church, the propriertors of which have just returned from a fortnight's holiday, cunningly avoiding the ash cloud by flying from Doncaster apparently.

Anyway, they said, 'oh we were talking about you while we were on holiday.'

Ulp, I thought.

'Yes, we were commenting on Leicestershire dialect and how food is called 'snap' '

To which I added, something to the effect of, 'yes, I know, and they also mash tea.  How does anyone mash tea?'

All of which made us laugh... and the other customers probably thought we were mad.  Especially those from the south of England.

 

Anyway, all went off alright today (even if I was glad I'd been lied to that the slot after us was taken) and I attended the purvey... which of course in Leicestershire would have probably been termed a 'buffy' (pronounced as in Vampire slayer) as the local variant of buffet (as in buffay not buff-et which is what storms do to small boats).  Silly language we use isn't it!!

Comments

  • Hi,

    I run a small fair trade business in Cambridgeshire. I am thinking of starting a blog to give our e-shop some more footfall. Is it something many people read - or is it something else that is like a needle in a haystack?

    By the way here in the fens lunch is known as docky and you put it into a docky box.

  • Hi Gordon,
    I've found that over time the number of 'hits' on my blog has increased from intially ~ 100 to now ~ 1000 different people per month. Really popular blogs/topics I'm sure draw more readers.

    If you want to link it to your business it might be more effective to use a 'bigger' blog platform ((such as blogger or wordpress) and I think that post titles and/or keywords make a difference.

    I think you'd need to give it time to see if it works for you. Most people (wisely) aim at maybe one post per week (unless a lot of things happen) and I think you need to be around that frequency to sustain interest.

    Hope that's of some help!

  • How does one mash tea?

    With a masher! You can't just leave the tea leaves to get on with it themselves; at least use a tea spoon!

    In my Warwickshire childhood this made some sort of sense even though there was no such thing as a masher. In my 5 year old mind I probably thought it was something to do with the tea strainer - a completely different part of the process.

    However, I see that mash is also a mixture of bran and hot water for horses, so there's probably a bit of an ag. lab. dialect thingy going on there too.

The comments are closed.