Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Dismununcipation

Is a Gorton-ish word for 'mispronunciation' and is probably of mixed West Midlands and Glaswegian origins.

Today I received an email referring to a 'purvey' which I knew from the context approximated to a 'wake.'  But I wasn't sure how to say the word in this context.  Even though 'purvey' [parts of Scotland] has the same etymology as 'purvey' [the rest of the UK] its pronunciation differs.

Purvey [per-vay] to provide, supply, sell as in 'purveyor of fine comestibles'

Purvey [per-vee] repast provided after a funeral (and sometimes a wedding) as in 'the purvey is at the hotel'

c.f. Pervy [sl.  per-vee] decidedly suspect in ways a minister could not possible know about as in 'that all sounds a bit pervy to me'

 

Saying 'pervay'got me laughed at (good naturedly)... but is less risky than saying 'per-vee' darn sarf.  'Are you coming to the pervy...?'  I think not!!

The comments are closed.