Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Animal Ethics for Christians?

We are planning what is technically termed an 'animally' theme at church for part of the summer into early autumn and whilst I have some ideas on where I'd like to go within that very broad remit (some animal images/metaphors used to speak of God; some of the fish-y stories in the gopsels, and so on) I feel there does need to be something looking at ethics.  There is a bit of creation care stuff on the BMS website and some decidely cranky (in most meanings of the word) stuff on the web but I'm not entirely sure where to find something useful.  Any ideas anyone?

There are so many 'animally' stories in the Bible that this is potentially a very exciting strand to explore... but I'm not planning on a pet blessing service, not least as the thought of little Johnnie's gerbil being eaten by Maisie's cat does not bear thinking about...!!  So, to those who thought I had finally really become the Vicar of Dibley, sorry, but no.

Comments

  • Not sure how you would go about 'preaching' it, but as a starting point, you could take a look at the work of Andrew Lindzey. I must admit that I haven't ever read any further than his "Animal Theology" - and a quick Google shows that he has developed his work considerably since then.

  • Thanks Tim, having Googled/Amazoned him I have now found one or two others as well... just need to read very rapidly once they arrive!

The comments are closed.