Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Happy Heretics

On Saturday I was doing a bit of sad narcissistic Googling (I'm everyone does they just have more sense than to admit it) with my name and that of our church.  Most of what popped up was obvious but I found one mention of a website that spoke very negatively of us becuase, shock horror, in my predecessor's time some attention had been given to green issues.  As I explored that site, I discovered that basically anyone who didn't share their exact views was a heretic, so we were in the good company of Rowan Williams, Tony Campolo, Steve Chalke and the Alpha Course to name but four.

According to the website (a blog, it was a couple of comments that referred to us) we are in a state of terminal decline, which is sad really because actually we are growing.  Yesterday during the offering I did a sneaky headcount and there were ~60 adults even though several were out with the children and a lot more were on holiday.  We had the delight of receiving someone into membership - the third since I arrived so around a 5% increase in 'formal' membership in that time, not counting the growing number of attenders.

So, the happy heretics are alive and well and worshipping in Glasgow.  There's always room for one more and the doors are open...

Comments

  • i was going to sign up for Happy Heretics and then realised according to this that I was already a member. Will you be making club T shirts?

  • If we ever do, I'll send you one... any preference for colour or logo?!

  • I think i probably need one as well. Last Christmas there was a website set up against my ministry because i quote Tom Wright and play Nooma DVD's, and that was from some one who had been comming to the church for about a year!

  • There are some very odd Christians around. The US blogs tend to be the worst but I have a facebook "friend" who thinks everybody is in error apart from himself and a few fundamentalist KJV version ultra conservative homophoboc, racist reformed Baptists. Currently this friend is obsessed by the Pope's planned visit to the UK and the threat to our Protestant heritage!! .

The comments are closed.