Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Architectural Memories

malcolm inglis npton.jpgMy endeavours to locate a photo of the carved Glasgow coat of arms in Northampton failed miserably, but I think this is part of the same building.  Thanks to mira66 for posting this image under a creative commons on Flickr.  (I hope this constitutes adequate attribution)

So far as I can ascertain this company is long defunct and this is probably the only surviving building bearing their arms.

Other branches were in Leeds, Leicester, Bristol, Manchester and London.

It's always worth looking up when you're walking around as there often amazing, or at least interesting, bits of architecture to check out.

(It seems  from other searches that this firm were tanning factors which fits in a shoe town)

Comments

  • I stumbled upon your blog, and was inspired by your "25 books" (though I can't actually read the list...though I don't know why) I LOVE books, and am always looking for inspiration in them. I will be seriously considering my list!

    as to this post. I love any old architecture...I live in a city that is VERY young, we are all 'blown away' when we see a building that is 100 years old! lol...I think I need to travel!

  • Hi 'B' Welcome to my blog! Yours looks interesting (in the good meaning of the word!)

    Hmmm. Are you using Explorer as your browser by any chance? I shifted to Firefox which seems a bit more flexible. I'll have a look at the post and see if there's something odd in the formatting.

The comments are closed.